top of page

Cries of the Captivating

The former Tom-Boy now writing as a woman who knows she is a picture of God’s beauty, scandal, tenderness, mystery, and quiet strength. And who has resolved to live this way. I write—we: women—write to remind and embrace and unashamedly declare who we are in Christ.

Dear Men, Does not my fragility stir you to protect? Does not my beauty stir you to chase me? Does not my gentleness provide you with rest and thrilling mystery? You hold a side of the Lord I so desperately need to see...here is my crying heart.

When I see you on your phone, I have to look away and am afraid something more interesting might draw my gaze further from you; I am afraid you do not delight in me.

When I see you walk faster than me, I have to catch up and fear that where we are going draws you more intensely than I do.

When you never take me out but we just “hang out,” my heart is more slowly won or won’t be at all.

When I see your face contain the same excitement for everything else as it does for me, I wonder if I have a special place in your heart.

When you’re so casual and cool, my heart will be drawn to one who wants me to know he isn’t taking me for granted.

When you tell me I am beautiful. When you tell me I am lovely. When you tell me I am precious. When you tell me that I am captivating...

I already know that I am. I already know that I am a woman.

What’s captivating to me is not my own strength, confidence, tenderness, or beauty.

What’s captivating to me is a man who is confident that he can win me. Because that is who God is.

A man who shows the wild character of God. Who loves to pursue my heart. Who desires to protect. I promise I will let you.

What’s captivating to me is a man who has decided I’m his. A man who never assumes I know he delights in me.

A man who tells me I’m captivating just so I know he notices me.

A man who walks towards me like he’s ready to claim my heart.

A man who sits next to me like he’s protecting a treasure.

A man who talks to me like he doesn’t want to lose me.

A man who impresses me to keep my attention.

A man who holds me like he’s brave.

The Cries of the Captivating are many. But their message the same.

Do you love us? Show us you are for us. Are we beautiful? Let the scandal begin. Is God as persistent for my heart as He declares? That is what I crave and what you are made to show.

Walk towards us in a confident awe and we’ll walk towards you and enjoy the view.

Walk towards us confident that you can blow our minds as much as we’ve blown yours. And you’ll find you can.

Know that we want to be won. Know that we are excited about you. The side of God you manifest is infinitely attractive. We need you.

I am made for man. I am made to bring delight, to be beautiful, mysterious, valiant, and to display the side of God that loves Romance, that wants to be known, that wants faithfulness, that wants decidedness.

Does not my fragility stir you to protect? Does not my beauty stir you to chase me? Does not my gentleness provide you with rest and thrilling mystery?

When you look at woman, do you not see more of who you are made to be?

The Cry of the Captivating is to see into the side of God you carry more clearly than we ever could. Let us see it. Let us see strength. Let us see jealously. Let us see resolve. Let us see adventure. Let us see safety. Let us see God, and be romanced by Him and you.

I am made to need this. Yet, I am too small for you. I know I am. I am glad I am. If I were your biggest goal, we would both tire. Bring me along in your mission to know the Creator and to advance His Kingdm and we will win.

Let me help you win. Us win. Let me help you as you search for yourself and the Lord. Let me come with you. Let who am inspire you to love God all the more, and to show me how He loves me. You are made for this. I am too.

bottom of page