top of page

As I Chase Dreams...Lessons from the Marathon

I recorded myself talking while I was on a longer training run the other day. I just had a lot to say to no one in particular.

___________________

Dear No One in Particular,

I'm training for this marathon in June and I don't have anyone training with me.

My dad is going for 100 miles the same day so that's a little different training.

So, I have to keep reminding myself, "Why am I doing this?"

And that's just a question runners get..."Why run?"

And people say, "Because I can," "Because I have no idea," "Because I find myself."

I think I've always had a reason to run. I started for volleyball; Quit because I was addicted and cutting my diet; Started again because I missed it; Quit because I was depressed; Started over because I was done with that.

I think I'm running this because two years ago I lost myself to depression and it's been a long time coming back. And the fact that I love running again means I'm back.

I think I'm running this to commit to victory. To commit to who the Lord has made me. To commit to living in freedom.

And also, I'm the daughter of a guy who runs 100 milers and may not always have a reason so I guess Tinnin's will always have to be little dramatic.

This is me just wanting to bring people along with me.

To maybe inspire people to take a step towards healing. Towards overcoming fear. Towards remembering who they are. Towards reaching out for a dream.

I don't think many people get that feeling of realizing a dream. But I sure hope my legs hold out long enough so I can count myself a lucky one.

But I don't even think about not finishing. We are done for the moment we flirt with unbelief.

The Mohican trail will be under my feet the whole race.

I'm not sure of the moment when running a marathon became a dream of mine. I guess it's not really important. But what's important is that I'm chasing it.

I wonder...if we got a glimpse into the hearts of the people we love most, what dreams would be hidden in the corners, would shy from daylight, or would cry for joy at the thought of expression. Or even the mere chance of being chased.

As I chase dreams, don't forget about yours.

If you wanna check out my race...go here. Shout out to 6:10...can't wait.


bottom of page